Apparently Facebook’s philosophy is “If it’s slightly broke, cluster-bomb it.” Facebook has forced everyone to use the new facebook. I would say that it looks good and it made things simpler, but it hasn’t and do not let anyone tell you differently. Now I will explain how much sucks.

The Wall
The wall has been a facebook staple from the beginning. The wall is quick, easy and can be hilariously embarrassing. The wall posts have always been together, because that made sense. Then they went and broke it. They merged the wall with your personal mini-feed so that everything about you is in one “convenient” section. So what is so bad about that? Well I know what’s in my mini-feed, I did it, I don’t need to be reminded, I just want to see who talked to me. The mini-feeds purpose is to show other people what I did and the wall is to show me who talked to me. That’s why they need to be separate.

My Apps
It was controversial when facebook apps were added. Everyone has hated some app at some point after their friends tried to super-poke them or convert them to be a pirate and battle ninjas. When used in moderation apps can be fun: get your friends to play Tetris, see where in the world your friend has gone, see a classic quote from a favourite show. Then they broke it, by putting the apps in the “boxes” tab. Most apps are main page material. It’s supposed to be a social site with social apps. They should bring them back up front.

Commenting
Why can you comment on everything? You can now comment on people’s status and on people’s new friendships. Why would I want to comment on people’s friendships and statuses? They have a wall, I can write on it. Why isn’t that enough? (Obviously picture comments are awesome, keep them)

So all facebook has to do to fix the problem is separate the wall and the mini-feed, put apps back to the front and stop the crazy amount of comments. They should also increase the default font size, because size 9 is too small. I’m not saying everything about the new facebook is wrong, just almost everything.

Here are some pictures comparing the old facebook with the new facebook courtesy of ijustine (hopefully she doesn’t mind since it is public on her flickr account)

Old Facebook

Old Facebook

New Facebook

New Facebook

Old Facebook

Old Facebook

New Facebook

New Facebook

Here are some links to official blog posts about the new facebook. I thought they were funny because the facebook people are wrong about everything

Announcing the New Facebook

Frequently Asks Questions